How Many People Fit On One Bamboo Raft?
How many people fit on one bamboo raft in Jamaica: capacity by river, how couples and families split rafts, and what you pay for per raft versus per person.
Most bamboo rafts in Jamaica are built for two seated adults and a captain who poles the raft from the stern. On some rivers a small child can squeeze in as a third passenger, and a handful of private tours sell seats rather than rafts, which changes the arithmetic for families. The answer to how many people fit on one raft depends on which river you choose, because the Martha Brae, Lethe, the White River and the Rio Grande each run slightly different craft with slightly different rules.
It is a question worth asking before you book rather than at the dock, because the number of rafts you need drives the number of seats you pay for, and the per person pricing on packaged tours means a miscounted party shows up as a surprise at checkout. A couple who assumes a third friend can ride along will be told at the rafting base that a second raft is needed. Planning the split in advance keeps the day smooth.

Two adults share one standard bamboo raft on every river covered here, with the captain standing at the rear to steer and pole. On the Martha Brae a raft also fits one small child aged 3 to 9 alongside the two adults, and the Rio Grande works the same way with two adults and one small child. On Lethe, the Great River and the White River the practical limit is two passengers per raft.
That two passenger pattern is not a marketing choice, it is physics. A Jamaican bamboo raft is roughly 30 feet of lashed bamboo with a flat seated platform near the front, and the captain needs clear deck behind that platform to push a long pole against the riverbed.
The practical upshot for planning is simple. A couple books one raft. Two couples book two. A family of four books two rafts. A party of six books three rafts. Solo travelers are matched onto shared departures on several listings, or pay for a private raft with a spare seat beside them.
If you want the classic arrangement, two of you on your own raft with everything handled, the private Martha Brae rafting listing states its inclusions plainly: hotel or port pickup, admission, a welcome fruit drink and a guide at the attraction, from $125 per person with free cancellation listed. It is the cleanest expression of the two person raft as a product you simply book, and its private format means nobody else is assigned to your deck.
How Does Sharing Work On The Martha Brae?
At Rafting on the Martha Brae, one raft carries 2 adults and a small child aged 3 to 9, plus the captain, on a 3 mile ride that lasts about 1 hour 15 minutes depending on the river's state. Seats are padded, there is no weight limit, though a person wider than the raft may find it uncomfortable.
That capacity comes straight from the operator's own FAQ page at jamaicarafting.com, run by River Raft Limited since 1985, with the attraction itself dating to the 1970s under the Jamaica Tourist Board. The child slot matters for families: a couple with one child aged 3 to 9 fits on a single raft without a second booking, while a couple with two children under 10 needs a second raft for one parent and the second child. The attraction is open every day including public holidays, 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.
The listing that spells out the sharing arrangement most directly is the shared bus tour from Montego Bay, Jamaica Martha Brae Bamboo Rafting with Bus Transportation, from $146.16 per person, 5.0 from 582 reviews, which states that the bamboo raft fee covers a raft holding 2 persons. Its listed inclusions name an air-conditioned vehicle and the raft fee, with lunch and alcoholic beverages excluded, and free cancellation is listed. For a family of four, that means the per person price times four, on two rafts traveling together.
After Hurricane Melissa made landfall on 28 October 2025 as a Category 5 storm, the operator's owner told the Gleaner the river and the roadway "had become one", though the company lost no rafts, and rafting resumed with a reopening reported in mid-December 2025. Hours since then are reported as daily 9 am to 4 pm, but confirm the day is running on the live listing before you lock a pickup time.
For more on this river generally, the Martha Brae rafting guide covers the ride, the drive times and the pickup options in detail.
How Does Sharing Work On Lethe And The Great River?
On the Lethe stretch of the Great River, most bamboo rafts hold two adults, and private rafts are the norm rather than the exception. Rides usually last 60 to 90 minutes, the operator lists hours of 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, and Lethe sits about 15 to 35 minutes from Montego Bay by car.
The Lethe operators' own FAQ page states the two adult arrangement plainly, and the tours sold from Montego Bay almost all follow it. The listing called Bamboo Rafting With foot Massage, from $103 per person, 4.5 from 56 reviews, is a private tour from Montego Bay hotels with hotel pickup and drop-off, all fees and taxes, the entrance fee and the foot massage included, and the listing tells you to confirm your pickup time after booking. Two of you, one raft, one captain, and a limestone foot massage worked in along the way.
The same river hosts the most-reviewed massage raft listed here, Jamaica Bamboo Rafting With Limestone Massage, 4.5 from 708 reviews and from $15 per person, a shared 1 hour 30 minute departure from Montego Bay hotels that includes round trip transportation, the admission fee, a life vest and a Bluetooth speaker. The low headline price is the base product; read the listing to see exactly what the option you select carries, because price basis differs between the bare raft and the transfer-included packages, and never compare the two as if they were the same thing.
Lethe flooded badly during Melissa, and the recovery in the village was still underway well into 2026, but the rafting itself was reported running again by early 2026, with a January 2026 video report describing the activity as revived. Treat that as reported status and confirm your date on the operator's live listing.
How Does Sharing Work On The White River And The Rio Grande?
On the White River near Ocho Rios, a rafted ride lasts about 45 minutes with tours starting between 9 am and 4 pm daily, and the listings sell per person on rafts that seat two. On the Rio Grande, a raft carries 2 adults and 1 small child plus the captain over a route of about 6 miles, lasting 2 to 3 hours.
The White River Calypso Rafting operator runs from a base about 10 minutes from Ocho Rios, closed Good Friday and Christmas Day, and the packaged tours from town follow the same two per raft pattern. The listing Bamboo River Rafting in Ocho Rios, from $60 per person, 5.0 from 94 reviews, includes roundtrip transportation and the entrance ticket, with a shopping and lunch stop at travelers' expense. Its private sibling, Private River Bamboo Rafting Activity in Ocho Rios Jamaica, from $80 per person, 5.0 from 60 reviews, includes bottled water and a limestone foot massage for ladies or a cold Red Stripe for men, and it is a private tour, so the raft is yours alone.
On the Rio Grande, the standard route runs from Berrydale in the Rio Grande Valley down to Rafters' Rest at St. Margaret's Bay, worked by about 80 raft captains, and a raft takes 2 adults and 1 small child alongside the captain. A typical trip lasts 2 to 3 hours, far longer than the other rivers, because the Rio Grande is a long valley float rather than a short scenic loop. If you want the full story of that river, from the banana-raft origins to Errol Flynn's 1946 arrival in Port Antonio, read the Rio Grande rafting guide.
Melissa hit the Rio Grande hard: captains reported losing well over 100 rafts when the river overflowed, according to the Gleaner's reporting, and Portland attractions including Rio Grande rafting were described as continuing to operate by late November 2025 with rafts rebuilt. The packaged tour from Port Antonio, Rio Grande Bamboo Rafting Tour from Port Antonio, from $300 per person, is a private 2 hour 30 minute trip including lunch, bottled water, transport and a guide, with pickup in Port Antonio confirmed on the booking page.

Do You Pay Per Person Or Per Raft?
Almost every packaged tour covered here prices per person, not per raft, so a couple pays twice even though they share one raft. River-side operators at the rafting bases charge per raft, and the packaged per person prices on the listings already bundle the raft, the captain and usually transport, which is why a $15 headline and a $146.16 headline are not the same product.
This is the single most common point of confusion when people plan a rafting day, so it is worth slowing down. Take three Martha Brae listings. The private Martha Brae rafting listing at from $125 per person includes round-trip hotel pickup and admission. The Falmouth port departure, Martha Brae River Rafting Tour From Falmouth, from $120 per person, includes air-conditioned private transport and all fees and taxes, and carries 9 reviews, too few for a star claim. The Ocho Rios departure, Martha Brae Rafting Ocho Rios, Runaway Bay, Falmouth and Montego Bay, from $147 per person, 5.0 from 18 reviews, includes the entrance ticket and roundtrip transportation for up to 30 guests.
| Listing | River | From (per person) | Tour type | Raft basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jamaica: Bamboo Rafting on the Martha Brae | Martha Brae | $125 | Private | Not stated |
| Martha Brae Bamboo Rafting Tranquil Peace Of Mind | Martha Brae | $124.64 | Private | 2 Persons To A Raft |
| Bamboo Rafting With foot Massage | Lethe | $103 | Private | Not stated |
| Great River bamboo Rafting and Margaritaville from Montego Bay | Great River | $20 | Private | Not stated |
| Bamboo River Rafting Experience from Ocho Rios | White River | $70.52 | Shared | Not stated |
Every price above comes from the listing's own page, and the table shows why reading the line matters: a $20 Great River raft and a $124.64 Martha Brae private raft both seat two, but one is a 2 hour Margaritaville-linked private option and the other is a 2 to 4 hour private pickup-and-drop-off product on the Martha Brae. Neither is wrong, they are different things. For a fuller breakdown by river, the bamboo rafting prices by river guide does this comparison properly.
River-side per raft fees exist at the bases, but they are separate from anything you book here and vary, so check at the site or on the listing rather than assuming a number. What the listings let you state is what the package covers.
Should A Family Of Four Or Five Book Two Rafts?
A family of four books two rafts, one parent and one child on each, and on the Martha Brae or the Rio Grande a family of three fits on a single raft because one small child rides alongside the two adults. A family of five needs either two rafts on the child-eligible rivers or three on rivers where the cap is strictly two passengers.
On the Martha Brae the child slot is defined as ages 3 to 9, so a ten year old counts as an adult for capacity purposes. Age limits and kid pricing on the packaged tours are set per listing, so check the listing for the specific departure you want rather than assuming the river rule carries over to the package.

There is a weight dimension worth naming honestly. The Martha Brae operator states there is no weight limit but a person wider than the raft may find it uncomfortable. Comfort, not safety paperwork, is the real constraint, and the operator's FAQ is the place those statements come from. If your party includes anyone who would rather have a raft to themselves for space reasons, private listings like Private Decorated Bamboo Rafting Lethe, from $120 per person, 5.0 from 16 reviews, with a first beer and water included and entry fees excluded, let you buy the whole raft and use one seat.
For couples this is all good news. The two person raft is the design brief, not a compromise, and the entire product category, from the $15 base Great River departure to the $220 Portland raft and jerk chicken private tour, is built around two people and a captain drifting down a river.
One caution for readers booking from a cruise ship: never assume a specific tour fits your ship's schedule. Check your ship's all-aboard time against the listing's own total duration, which includes the drive, and only book departures whose own line names port or cruise-port pickup, such as the Falmouth port Martha Brae tour or the Lethe cruise-port pickup listing. Nobody can promise you will be back at the pier by a fixed hour.
The Great River limestone massage raft above is the volume option: 708 reviews at 4.5, from $15 per person, a 1 hour 30 minute shared tour from Montego Bay hotels with round trip transport and a life vest included, and free cancellation listed. Two of you, one raft, and the cheapest listing here to find out whether a bamboo raft fits your idea of a good afternoon.
Common Questions About Sharing A Bamboo Raft
How Many People Fit On One Bamboo Raft?
Two adults fit on a standard bamboo raft on every river covered here, with the captain poling from the stern. On the Martha Brae and the Rio Grande, one small child can ride as a third passenger, aged 3 to 9 at Martha Brae. On Lethe, the Great River and the White River the practical limit is two passengers.
Can Three Adults Share One Bamboo Raft?
No listing covered here sells three adult seats on one raft. The rafts seat two passengers, and a third adult means a second raft. The Rio Grande fits two adults plus one small child, not three adults.
Do Kids Pay For Their Own Seat?
At the Martha Brae attraction a child aged 3 to 9 rides alongside two adults on the same raft. Kid pricing on the packaged tours is set per listing, so check the listing for the departure you want.
Is There A Weight Limit On A Bamboo Raft?
The Martha Brae operator states there is no weight limit, though a person wider than the raft may find it uncomfortable. For anything beyond that, such as limits on packaged tours, check the listing or ask the operator.
Do Solo Travelers Need To Pay For Two Seats?
Not necessarily. Several shared tours, such as the Great River limestone massage raft from Montego Bay, sell per person seats on shared departures, so a solo traveler pays once. Private tours price the whole experience per person but give you the raft to yourself.